Cards

Hedgehugs

Well I had planned on having 2 WHOLE HOURS to myself at my house. ALL BY MYSELF!! That’s a BIG deal for those who don’t know me. Since I had my twins I haven’t had ANY time to myself at my house. I had such big plans. Oh well. Rant over. 

Anyways, plans changed so I only had about 30 mins to make a card today. 

I wanted to make a card for the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge. This weeks theme is Little Critters. I absolutely love how this card came out!! I think I’ll send it to someone in my family. And I do apologize for the lack of pictures. If anyone wants more pictures please let me know and I’ll recreate. 


Supplies:

  • Card base – 4 x 5.5 (a bit smaller than A2)
  • Watercolor paints or pencils (I used both) 
  • Pencil
  • Foam dimensions
  • Lawn Fawn Hedgehugs
  • Acrylic block
  • Ink
  • Glue adhesive 
  • Scissors or matching die set 
  • Xacto knife 
  • Sequins
  • Pocket for sequins – I used part of 9 pocket sleeve

 
I started with my watercolored background. I used the watercolor pencils first and watercolor paper (not pictured). All shades in the pack of green and light brown for the grass and all blues and 1 purple for the sky. I used a damp sponge (not pictured) and blended it all. After that dried I took the watercolor paint and added some darker layers. After it dried completely I cut it down to size. 

If anyone wants a video on how I did it, comment below and I’ll make one 🙂 It was fairly easy. 


When you’re ready to create the window for the shaker pocket flip your watercolor over and measure where you want the pocket to go. I did .5″ from the top and .5″ from the sides. This was the perfect size to have a boarder big enough to secure the sleeve. I did not use my fuse tool for this card. Instead I used a strip of packing tape. Save the piece you cut out, I didn’t like the white background with the sequins. I glued the scrap to the back of the shaker pocket. You could also put this piece inside the shaker. 

Once the shaker and backgrounds are finished, stamp your images and color. I only used the water color pencils on these and fussy cut them out. The sentiment was stamped directly on the card. 


Finally, use the foam dimensionals and adhere the background to the card base. All done!! 

Thank you for stopping by!! I hope to have another card up for tomorrow. 

1 thought on “Hedgehugs”

Leave a Reply

